Mom 2 Mom Recap

I think I forgot to mention the Mom 2 Mom sale outcome. And it deserves rehashing, for sure.

Let’s get this straight, first.

I hate garage sales. Not in a small way either. I REALLY dislike them. I would get trapped when I was younger out with my Mom and Aunt and Grandma on key weekends in the summer and my aversion existed even then.

So, I was certainly leery of the Mom 2 Mom event at the Birch Run Expo Center. (So was my Mom, but I won’t sell her out in this post). But, I figured, I’m going to go in with an open mind and see what sort of things I may be able to find.

And I did.

We waited in line from arriving at 8:15 a.m. and grabbing a Starbucks Frappucino and Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake (Reduced Fat, if you care). And it was ok, the waiting. My mom and I entertained ourselves. Then, the doors opened. We went into the ‘large stuff’ area and there were probably some relatively good options, but nothing that appealed to me. And, I was claustrophobic as HELL. I mean, there were women and strollers and kids EVERYWHERE and it was just about my idea of hell…but, we headed into the main area. Ok, so the main area was also a cluster. So, we headed to the back of the monstrosity of the hall. And it was my nightmare. It was icky clothes (ok, not all, but most). It was a garage sale on steroids. And it was awful. These people were like professional garage sale sellers – they obviously make a pseudo living off of that.

I got involuntary shivers. I’m sure, had I known if this baby is a boy or girl, I may have been more inclined.

Ok, I’ll stop now. It was just awful. I’m sure some people (those who enjoy garage sale-ing in general) would also enjoy this type of an event. But not this girl. If I can use a coupon and get the stuff brand new for the same price as these folks are selling it, I’m buying it new. My Mom said she wanted to record my reaction and play it back a year from now. I know, I know. But…just not my cup of tea.

L

Leave a Reply

