Wonder-Full

Every once in awhile lately, when I stop to think about it, I realize how cool being pregnant can be (there are drawbacks too, but…).

I mean, my body moves itself around to make room for the current onion-sized object growing in there. It develops more blood and fluid all on its own, without having to be told what to do. I don’t have to do anything more than continue to eat, sleep, breathe normally and this baby grows. And my body just knows what to do.

I think reading this morning that the baby now has a urinary tract and bladder and it empties every hour or so really caught me off guard. It’s a bit disconcerting to know that something (someone?) is peeing inside of me (weird/gross, actually), but it’s also reassuring to know that thus far, things are moving along as normal as they should.

Finally did a little research on some of my favorite pregnancy sites last night into tailbone pain (it’s called the coccyx – cock-ix). I guess lots of women have this pain while pregnant. I forgot to mention it to the doctor the last time I was there, so I’m going to bring it up when I’m there on the 23rd and see what I can do for it. One recommendation is not to sit for extended periods of time. Right, that works when I drive everywhere for work. I guess I really do just need to commit to stopping more regularly and giving myself lots of time to drive to wherever it is I need to go.

The pain isn’t bad, per se, but it kind of makes you feel like someone is pulling your buttcheeks apart, using your tailbone as the pull tab perforation (like on the saran wrap/aluminum foil box). And it goes away after awhile of being up and moving around, but it can catch me off guard when I first stand up, because it hurts a little worse then than while I”m sitting down. I read one site that recommended a chiropractor — I”m going to also ask the doctor about that. I’ve never gone to one, and the idea sort of scares me a bit, but if it could help with the tailbone pain…but I also hate to do something new when I’ve got a little mini growing inside just fine. Why mess with a good thing. I can deal with a little pain in the ass.

One thought on “Wonder-Full

  1. I think it’s cool that a woman’s body grows a new organ, the placenta, and then dumps it when it isn’t needed any more. We definitely have a one up on guys there, we can grow our own organs 🙂

Leave a Reply

