Whatever You Are, Be a Good One

I had an epiphany while in the car today (go figure, since I spend the majority of my time driving due to work!). Plus, I do my best thinking in the car anyway. Wish it were the shower, but it’s the car for me.

Anyway, I talked out loud to the mini-Mason growing INSIDE my body. What a weird thing to think about — a whole other person growing inside of my body. And then, to talk to it. Out loud. Weird.

And I was counting the days until the big reveal of whether the mini Mason is a boy or girl (only 18 more sleeps!) and I was thinking of whether I wanted a particular gender (yes and no…I really just would like a nice, non-albino, healthy baby with 10 fingers and toes…). Anyway, and I was contemplating whether or not I wanted a boy or girl, I suddenly said – out loud – to the mini Mason in my belly – “Whatever you are, be a good one.”

And that, in a nutshell, is how I will not categorize how I feel about the gender of the mini. I hope he or she is a good baby (if the mini could read, I would tell it an aside ‘that means sleep through the night from night one’ 🙂 but I hope that really, that as he or she grows up, continues to be ‘a good one’. And I know she will be – or he will be – but that’s how I feel about it.

I don’t know where that quote came from (Hemingway – that’d be appropriate for my tastes) but I like it.

Whatever the mini is, I hope it’s a good one. And I hope the 18 sleeps FLY by!

Leave a Reply

