24 Weeks: Status Update

Turns out we’re still the size of a papaya…in Week 24. I’m adding a section to this post entitled: Boobs & Belly Button because I’m fascinated with the growth and disappearance of each simultaneously. Without delay, Week 24:


Due Date: October 14, 2011/October 27, 2011 (mine/doctor’s).

Baby Developments: Baby’s growing steadily, having gained about 4 ounces since last week. That puts her at just over a pound. Since she’s almost a foot long (picture an ear of corn), she cuts a pretty lean figure at this point, but her body is filling out proportionally and she’ll soon start to plump up. Her brain is also growing quickly now, and taste buds are continuing to develop. Lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help her air sacs inflate once she hits the outside world. Her skin is still thin and translucent, but that will start to change soon.

Weight Gain: Added four pounds to the total weight gain after the last appointment, so does that bring me to about eight pounds gained? I’m sure it’s more now…I’m anticipating a one-pound per week weight gain. And I have NOT been good about being active. Oops.

Cravings: Nothing specific. At all. I haven’t really had a craving symptom at all through the pregnancy. Could that just be something that women use as an excuse while pregnant? I want to be very careful here — because if I’m pregnant ever again and have crazy cravings, I don’t want to have handicapped myself 🙂

Symptoms: Not much, really. Tired, but only at night. I’m sleeping a solid 8-10 hours per night, which is LOVELY, my friends. I know that’s coming to an abrupt end in 16 or so weeks…

I am loving: Drew’s arrival, photographing my friends’ kids and the progress on projects around the house. And, the fact that I finally cleaned the toilets and bathrooms yesterday. It’s the little things, what can I say. Oh, and that I’ve got a looonnng vacation starting Friday!

Sleep: Like I said, 8-10 hours per night. Not even having to get up most nights to potty.

I miss: summer cocktails. Thinking about spending the weekend on the water with my standby preggo drink (Diet Squirt and Fuze Peach Mango) doesn’t sound as exciting as Bacardi and Diet, Bud Light, or any other boat drink.

I am looking forward to: getting the insulation done in the attic so we can progress on Minnie’s room; vacation!

I am spazzing about: Not much. Feel like time is of the essence these days and I really need to get the nursery in some semblance of order. But, not at spaz level yet.

Best moment of the week: Loving on Stella and Millie (Jay’s babies) last week. Millie is just about the best baby and Stella is a handful but TOO cute! As for my Minnie – lots of jabs and pokes coming from inside my baby belly. Finding out Galon and Hol-Leigh are expecting and Clapper gets to be a Grandma.

Milestones: I’ve watched my belly move only a handful of times when she’s kicked, but it’s a milestone nonetheless. Four more months of this stuff.

Movement: All the time…at least once an hour (which they say is what I should feel).

It’s a….: GIRL!

Exercise: Not enough. Must. Do. Better.

Boobs & Belly Button: My boobs seem to keep getting bigger. Sports bras are my favorite friend as a result. My initial start-point with the belly button was a very, very deep one. I’m interested to see how far out it’s going to actually make it. It seems like one of the deepest I’ve come across, so…here’s to the watch!

Diet: Turns out Minnie loves ice cream. She loves Mackinaw Island Fudge, but will settle for Moose Tracks (odd, those are my favorites, too ;). I don’t indulge the ice cream fetish on her behalf every day — but more days than I wish I would. Eating’s been pretty decent though….yesterday I feel like I stuffed myself. I had been looking forward to breakfast out all week long, and we enjoyed at the local breakfast spot we hit up most weekends.

Goals for the upcoming week: Work on the latch-hook rug that I”m making for Minnie’s room. Be uber-productive for work so that I can enjoy thoroughly my time away next week. Go for a walk a few days each week. Photograph Drew in all his fresh, baby new-ness.

Leave a Reply

