Labor 101

They want you to take a class on how to come to terms with having a baby. Or so it seems.

I haven’t actually had the doctor – Neubeck – tell me to sign up for classes. I think they gave us paperwork at visit numero uno and hoped that we would just take it upon ourselves to pursue the paperwork and book a class on how to have a baby. Well, I’ve shown them. I have NOT booked any class time nor have I felt badly about it.

Well, until today.

I got it into my head to do a little digging into childbirth classes. I googled “Hurley Childbirth Classes” and found a website that was pretty unhelpful and didn’t have much in the way of ‘how to get a hold of us if you have questions’. So, I called a random number and asked what to do about childbirth classes. I was connected to another line, where they haphazardly gave me another number to call. Except I had no pen or paper in hand at that point.

Call back, ask to be re-connected. Write down the number. Call the number. Leave a message that I’m looking for childbirth class information.

In the meantime, I found another number and the woman told me I could take a childbirth class every Thursday for two hours for three weeks straight beginning in early August. To which I responded that I work and travel and I can’t guarantee three back to back Thursdays. I indicated I would really need the one day intensive. The woman on the other end of the line recommended the Tuesday or Wednesday three-week class.

Again, not helpful.

The woman who I left the message with ultimately called back, leaving a message that said I could take a class for three weeks on Tuesdays, Wednesdays or Thursdays.

Super. Helpful.

Really.

I started looking at Genesys and McLaren and began emailing my friend, Molly, who is due a month before me.

We agree on the general stupidity of the class structure. So – we opt to look for a birth class DVD and find Labor 101 on amazon.com. And agree that we’ll watch it together and see if it’s worth sharing with our significant others.

After talking to Jon tonight, we agreed that the baby’s going to come one way or another. And that we’re paying a lot (A LOT) of money in insurance and what not to the hospital professionals and they should really be in charge of the process. I’m okay with that. I’m confident enough in my own ability to take charge of my body when need be. So, Labor 101 may be the only thing that I actually pay attention to in advance of the Minnie’s arrival.

And for now, I’m ok with that.

Ask me the day AFTER she’s born.

Leave a Reply

