Thoughts from a Starbucks…

I find myself feeling as though I want to update this page more and don’t know quite what might interest those of you that read it…so, tonight, my stream of consciousness.

This baby girl is moving a LOT — though the movement has changed (as predicted by all the baby websites out there) because she’s getting bigger and there’s less room inside my body for her to do all the flips and kicks and whatnot. As I write, I believe that her butt is up under my boobs (or the front of my ribcage, whatever) and her feet are facing towards my back and her head and arms and shoulders are down toward my pelvis. That’s just a guess. That, or her head is the big body part that’s chilling under my rib cage. I’m hoping that it’s her butt. Otherwise, she’s going to have to pull off some legitimate acrobatics to get head-down and ready to come meet us.

Jon is working at the DC Cook Nuclear Plant in Bridgman, Michigan. I’m glad he’s back to work in this era of unemployment but hotel living is for the birds, for sure.

FYI, the young girl working at this Starbucks talks obnoxiously loud about a multitude of topics. If I worked at Starbucks, that’d probably be me. Either way, I wish this particular gal would shut up for a brief minute. Distracting.

The blinds that we ordered a few weeks ago will be installed on Friday afternoon! Can’t wait to see what a difference that will make. That will make our kitchen and the baby’s room nearly complete which will be a huge relief.

I found myself sitting in the nursery last weekend, just enjoying the fact that the room is done in a lot of ways. It’s got fresh paint, new furniture and artwork to go on the walls. I wish we could say the same for other rooms in the house. If I can put the artwork on the walls in the kitchen, I’ll feel like I’m getting a little bit closer.

Spent a small fortune at Ikea tonight…and that threw me off. I thought Ikea was supposed to be cheap?! It is, until you buy a lot of stuff!! I think I spent about $75-100 in picture frames for the baby’s room. Jon’s Mom has stuff for mat-cutting, so I think I can re-mat the prints and be ready to go. I’m really excited to show off the finished room photos to you when I get home. But I have to get those prints framed and up on the walls, get the decal on the wall, etc.

Jen, Jon’s brother’s girlfriend (let’s call her my sister in law, even though she is not – by definition – my in law), is hosting the Mason-family baby shower on Sunday at her house. Rick and Jen have had a run of shit luck in the last few days, from a busted dishwasher that may have sacrificed the hardwood floors, to a shattered glass patio table (it’s a manufacturer’s flaw), to a busted U-joint while at the sand dunes. Hopefully, Jen’s luck has turned around and the party goes off without a hitch on Sunday. I’m really, really grateful to her for hosting it. I know it’s stressful to host a party at your house. And, more than that, I just find the whole concept of a shower really foreign. I mean, here’s a list of all the crap I need for a baby, so go ahead and buy it for me?? I wish that registries weren’t the expectation. I’m anxious to see what sort of things people gift that they choose because THEY wanted to. I don’t know, I’m so grateful/thankful for the great families that we have in our lives…but I feel this odd guilt of asking people to purchase gifts that we picked out. Though, I understand that people would rather get us something we need/want rather than something we don’t. But, isn’t the point of gifting in the giving?? I don’t know — I’m definitely excited to see what the weekend holds and I’m going to try to be good at receiving gifts.

My Mom says I need to come up with something more to say than ‘Oh, how cute!’ so that there is a multitude of things I say. She says she gets sick of hearing the same line over and over again. She’ll probably shoot me a look on Sunday at the shower when I start getting too repetitive. I’ll need to come up with a mental list of things to say.

I really am looking forward to seeing “The Help”. The book was awesome and I’m ready to head to a movie. I haven’t been to a movie in months and it just sounds like something I’d like to do, a brief reprieve from thinking. At least that’s the hope.

For the record, the 40DD bra is too big. I need to go to a single D, but I wanted to give myself some growing room. I wore the bra once and it threatened to show out of the sides or middle of my shirt all day. So much fabric, it’s trying to escape the shirt. Ugh. Not a fan of the gi-normous boobies.

It’s hard to believe that we’re only about 2 months from having a baby at our house!? Isn’t that just crazy? I find myself in awe that I haven’t yet questioned the type of mom I’ll be, like I read some women fret about in other blogs. I’m supremely confident in my ability to be a mom…I’m less confident in my ability to balance lack of sleep with being a nice person. I think that as we get closer, Jon is getting more and more ‘excited’. (I hate to use the word excited to ever describe Jon. The most excited I’ve ever seen him was when he got up off the couch when I walked in the door last week and asked me if I wanted to see the new garage floor…that was a big moment for him…he’s not a real ‘get excited’ kind of guy). Anyway, I just think he’s getting maybe more comfortable with the idea of the baby, the baby girl, the things that means for us as a couple and the dynamic shift that will for sure occur. When asked at the anniversary party this past weeknend (over and over again) if he was ready for the baby, he answered (quite confidently, I must say) “NO”. At least he knows where he stands 🙂

Anywho – I’m at Starbucks and have had enough of stream of consciousness, haven’t you? I’m sure I’ll have more to post soon!

L

Leave a Reply

