31 Weeks, Two Days: Status Update

Alright – better late than never. This week took a lot out of me being on the road for nearly the entire week and worrying about getting the house cleaned and ready to go in case we have visitors ahead of or after tomorrow’s shower at Jen’s house. But, with Jon and I both working out of town, it became a little bit daunting to say the least. Either way, I’m home now and spent some quality time with cleaning supplies in the last 24 hours, so I’m feeling better. Without delay, here’s a 31 weeks, 2 days status update!


Due Date: October 20, 2011.

Baby Developments: She keeps getting longer and fatter, is losing the cover of lanugo that was keeping her warm because her brain is SO advanced that she is now able to regulate her own body temperature. Way to go, Minnie!

Weight Gain: Had gained 1.6 pounds in the two weeks since my last doctor’s appointment, which brings the total weight gain to ~15.6 pounds for the entire pregnancy.

Cravings:  Water and pickles. Nothing new – I’ve always loved pickles and the jar of Claussen’s has taken a hit latey. But, nothing big.

Symptoms: Definitely feel more tired more regularly, which they say happens in the third trimester again. Also, definitely feeling more kicks and jabs than rolling movement in my belly, which is a result of the baby getting bigger and less amniotic fluid to cushion the blows.

I am loving: the nursery! It’s coming together so so so so well. I bought a rug at Ikea on the off chance I don’t finish the one that I am working on and I bought a book shelf for her room that isn’t actually going to work out, so I have to find a different purpose for that. But, loving that we’ve made some SERIOUS progress!

Sleep: Last night is a perfect example…I was EXHAUSTED and took the iPad and laid in bed listening to an episode of Antiques Roadshow. I was nearly passed out when Jon came to bed, but then was awake. And then was incredibly uncomfortable. Jon offered to turn on the air conditioning, but it wasn’t a temperature issue. I wound up heading to the couch and falling asleep until 3:15 when I made it back to bed finally. Finding a way to sleep comfortably is definitely a challenge.

I miss: my belly not hitting things when I turn around and having a drink when I want to. I would love, love, love to sit out on the deck with a glass of wine and enjoy the evening.

I am looking forward to: tomorrow’s shower at Jen’s house and to see the gifts that people are excited to give to our Minnie. I certainly don’t have a clue about what to expect, so I’m really looking forward to the time with Jon’s family.

I am spazzing about: how we’re going to make our long distance (again?!) relationship keep working with a baby due in the next few months. I mentioned to Jon last night that I hoped that he could work his schedule so that his rotation will allow him to be home  on Saturday, Sept. 10 for our childbirth class. I intentionally found the one day edition for our busy schedules. He said he can’t promise it because he doesn’t know how they’ll schedule him, but he’s going to try to make sure he’s back on that day. I also feel like it’s really good money and a great opportunity for him to have this experience. But, the birth of our child is for SURE going to only happen this one time and I can’t really fathom the thought of him not being prepared for it and being prepared for helping me. I guess I’m a little scared of him not knowing how to act in the delivery room, frankly, and having that be something that stands out in my mind. See, definitely spazzing over it.

Best moment of the week: Thursday night my Mom and Trevor came over to help carry heavy things I’d bought at Ikea into the house for me. I was laying on a new rug in the living room floor and said ‘ooh, that’s a baby part’ because there was a hard appendage sticking out in my belly. But, because I was laying on my back, I couldn’t totally see what was going on when I pulled up my shirt, but my Mom and Trev could. And they both screamed and ran away when our dear Minnie’s little arm-leg-elbow-foot (not sure which) moved and pushed across my belly. Trevor and my Mom thought she was coming out via my belly button, I think. Trevor said it was like something out of the movie Alien. He also said ‘That scared me Lindsay, I didn’t like that’. It was cute, but it was also really, really funny.

Milestones: The nursery is nearly finished! First shower tomorrow!

Movement: Our party girl ways at 10 p.m. continue.

It’s a….: GIRL!

Exercise: Not so good…I really need to get better. This week just got away from me.

Diet: Have been continuing my moderate intake of all things…which I feel like is good. And with just under two pounds gained in two weeks and a total of just about 16 pounds, I feel okay about that. However, there’s still two months to go, which if I gain about a pound per week from here on out, I’m staring 25 pounds gained in the face. Whatever.

Boobs & Belly Button: Boobs – the 40DD is too big I’ve decided. The bra itself isn’t the right solution for me. Too much coverage, so it hangs out of the shirts I wear. Not like I am wearing uber revealing clothes or anything, but the bra is just so. damn. big. My belly button remains in…but it’s totally weird to be able to see the bottom of it. Normally, my belly button is just an abyss that I have to clean with a QTip.

Goals for the upcoming week: Finish, finish the nursery. Thank you notes written for the shower.

Leave a Reply

