People Say the Darndest Things

Just a few things I wanted to capture before I forgot that have happened over the last few days.

I was at an account and one of the employees, who does not have a fine grasp of the English language (primary language is Spanish and her English is VERY broken). She sort of gets the point across that she didn’t know I was pregnant, wondered how long til I had the baby (seven weeks!) and…wait for it…if I was having ONE or TWO babies. Really, lady? Really? Two babies. You’re the first person (outside of that Hobby Lobby bitch) who made me feel like I was bigger than I ought to be. On the whole, I’ve felt pretty good about my changed body this far into the pregnancy.

At the Summerset Salon & Day Spa yesterday at the Skin Renewal Clinic for a microdermabrasion appointment. The clerk at the desk says “Wow, you’ve really popped since you were here last” which, I don’t think she was there when I had my last appointment over two+ months ago. And, even if she was, that was MONTHS ago. Anyway, she proceeds to say “Yeah, I must have just figured that you were pudgy, not pregnant.”

Classic, lady. Real nice.

I then make my way to the exit of the building and am stopped by a sweet old woman, who puts her hands on my stomach, says “You don’t mind, do you?” and tells me how lucky I am. (This was a cool interaction, I have to admit). And she just said she could feel the baby, that she thought I was so lucky to be having a baby…it was actually pretty cool and she was really really sweet and didn’t make me feel bad about my body at all. She just made me feel…well…lucky, I guess. Which I am. We are. There are a lot of people out there who want a baby and can’t have a biological one of their own…but there are many paths to being a parent, I feel.

And then today, I went up to Joe’s Garage to watch the Michigan game with Jon and his brother, Rick. And they ordered a pitcher of Oberon…and the girl brought ALL of us iced glasses. Ummm, really? You didn’t notice my 8 1/2 month pregnant belly when I ordered the water, straight up, with a lemon AND lime? (Yes, that’s how I’ve taken to ordering my drinks these days. Awesome).

Also, I read somewhere that some people bring champagne with them to the hospital so they can celebrate after the baby is born. As ‘much’ as I think that could be…I kind of want that memory. I think that I’ll make sure I have a bottle of champagne in my bag, or that Jon has one, just in case I want that to be part of the festivities after she’s born and all is well and we start receiving visitors. You know, after I’ve splashed some water on my face, put some lipstick on my face and run a brush through my hair. Or something that makes me not look like death warmed over. I digress. I guess, mainly, I just really want a damn drink.

2 thoughts on “People Say the Darndest Things

  1. JUST ENJOY EACH DAY AS A BLESSING , BABIES ARE A GIFT FROM GOD. I REALLY CAN HARDLY WAIT TO SEE HER . AND TO HEAR HER NAME. I WAS THERE THE DAY YOU WERE BORN AND YOU WERE THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BABY I HAD EVER SEEN , BESIDES YOUR MOM , SHE WAS OHOOOO SO BEAUTIFUL. ENJOY THESE LAST MONTH’S . GRANDMA

Leave a comment