Lists

I’m a list person. I like the way the pen feels in my hand as that swift up-and-down motion of a check mark is made as a task is completed or the finality of drawing a big, thick line through chores on the around-the-house list.

Yeah, I love that feeling.

Satisfaction at its finest.

A long-time user of the FranklinCovey planner system, dots and arrows frustrate me (this means “In Progress” and “Planned Forward”, respectively). An ‘X’, that one isn’t so bad. Means something has been deleted off the list.

So, I’m a list person.

I make lists of the things I need to do today (see today’s list thus far…).

I make lists of the chores needed to do around the house, like this:

This is one of those huge flip chart pieces of paper that is like a big sticky note. I like to think big, and this helps me do that. Clean toilets has snuck its way onto the list twice, somehow. But, these things have to happen ahead of Saturday’s baby shower at our house. So, it’s hanging in the hallway where I walk by it about 28 1/2 times a day. Because I gain so much satisfaction out of crossing things off, it’s goading me into doing things just to get them off the damn list.

Now, there is no problem with being a list person. At all. And I find it ironic, especially  now, that I don’t have my hospital bag packed and that I don’t even know where the list I started of things-to-pack made its way to. I’m normally much  more listy than that.

However, here’s the problem with being a list person: Living with and sharing a home with someone who is NOT a list person; Dating someone who is NOT a list person.

As an example, let me introduce Exhibit A:

This is the first list that I know Jon to have produced in our three-plus years of dating. Yes, ladies and gents, there is one thing on the list, written haphazardly.

“Toaster”

Is that a command? A request? A demand?

“Toaster”

To be honest, I know what it’s about. I don’t like the toaster to sit on the counter. Jon does. I have said that if we had a nicer looking toaster, that I would not mind it so much on the counter. (Yes, these are the little battles waged at our house…).  Jon thinks it’s stupid to put the toaster away after it’s done being used, but I don’t like clutter on the counters. (Jon says that using my logic, my KitchenAid mixer should be put away in the cupboard too…I have had to point out that a KitchenAid mixer is more of a status symbol than something a useful tool like a toaster, so it remains on the counter. For the record, Jon rolled his eyes at my response).

But, it occurred to me in staring at Jon’s ‘list’ (I use the term loosely) how different we are in so many ways. I’ve shared with you two lists I’ve created in the last 12 hours…Jon’s is the only list I’ve ever seen him write out in three years and it reads ‘Toaster’. And really, it’s not Jon’s list. It’s his list for me. So that he doesn’t have to put the toaster away when it’s done being used (for the record, I end up putting it away more often than he does, but that’s not worth keeping track of, now, is it?).

Anyway, I just think it’s funny and it’s making me laugh. Illustration of how our brains work so, so differently.

More soon,

L

 

Leave a Reply

