35 Weeks: Status Update

I am on my final work trip in Indianapolis ahead of labor, delivery and welcoming our Minnie into the world. Craziness. Have lots to accomplish, but wanted to make sure I didn’t miss this week’s update. I also want to enter into the record that this COULD be 36 weeks status update…but I’m again trusting the doctors who allegedly know more about this than I do.

Due Date: October 20, 2011.

Baby Developments:First of all, I just Google’d “35 weeks” and the top of hte page says “=245 days”. Crazy, right? 120 more days and that’ll be a year. Weird in the whole scheme of things.

Baby doesn’t have much room to maneuver now that she’s over 18 inches long and tips the scales at 5 1/4 pounds (pick up a honeydew melon). Because it’s so snug in the womb, she isn’t likely to be doing somersaults anymore, but the number of times she kicks remains about the same. Most of her basic physical development is now complete — she’ll spend the next few weeks putting on weight.

 Weight Gain: As we all know, I don’t weigh myself in between doctor visits. Have a doctor visit coming up on Monday, Sept. 19. Would guess I have added on a few pounds just by the way it’s hard to move from one side to the other in bed at night. Definitely getting awkward-feeling in my own body. Not fun.

Cravings: Nothing much…I still enjoy Twizzlers, though I polished off the one bag and haven’t had another and I had the one root beer float, and that was it. Sweet treats in general are my craving, but I think that’s more just something where I feel like ‘why not’ as the end draws nearer.

Aversions: Still just picky when it comes to what I want to eat.

Symptoms: Back pain – lots of it; sleeplessness/restlessness. Nesting – my house is nearly as clean as it’s ever been in the nearly six months we’ve lived there. Her room is complete. I need to finish labeling the boxes I got for her closet, and then I’m done!

I am loving: knowing that the final shower is this weekend. I’m looking forward to having nothing else planned on Saturday than to enjoy the company of people I love and can’t wait to see. I am also loving knowing that I will know, after this weekend, what I have and what I am still in need of. I am so ready to put the finishing touches on my list of things I will feel better once I own. And then, I’m loving that the baby’s arrival is on the horizon. Just a month or so to go now!

Sleep: I feel like I get good sleep, but the good sleep is interrupted by my peeing incessantly and by waking up to re-position myself. I woke up yesterday morning at 3 a.m., couldn’t get back to sleep, so watched something on the iPad PBS app for an hour before I feel back asleep finally.

I miss: feeling moderately good about my body; not appearing pregnant.

I am looking forward to: the shower and the friends and family that will descend on my house on Saturday!

I am spazzing about: figuring out work stuff in the final weeks of this pregnancy.

Best moment of the week: Spending the day with my brother at the house, him working on homework and helping me do a few things here and there; and me working. It was just nice to be ‘at work’ with someone and I was glad it was my brother; dinner at my mom and dad’s on Tuesday night.

Milestones: Nothing much to report.

Movement: We are busy girls on the 7’s and the 10’s and lots of time in between. There have been some relatively large movements here and there, so I’m anxious to see if she’s still head-down as Dr. Neubeck reported two weeks ago.

It’s a….: GIRL!

Exercise: Went for a walk with Molly the other night; running around the house cleaning, etc.

Diet: Moderate.

Boobs & Belly Button: Boobs are now a 38D, which I feel is just fine for now. Belly button is still an innie, but I can see the bottom of my belly button, a new development.

Goals for the upcoming week: Clean up AFTER the shower, spend some quality time with Jon on Friday and Sunday, enjoy the gifts that we get on Saturday, get them organized, get thank you notes written and into the mailbox and get work stuff in order for hand off any day.

One thought on “35 Weeks: Status Update

  1. HI HONEY ,
    Wish I could be there Sat. I will be thinking of you all day. I hope to come up after her birth. Enjoy your time off work , get lots of rest because after baby comes , it may be hard to get a good night’s sleep . but she will be worth it. Love you. Grandma

Leave a Reply

