29 Days…and Counting

Went for a walk this morning and realized how close this whole being a Mom thing is becoming. As I’ve said all along, it’s pretty surreal.

While I certainly feel as ready as I can be in most ways, in my head I can’t quite wrap my head around the concept. Like, last night while watching “Parenthood” on NBC (my latest favorite show, which I totally recommend DVR’ing) I realized how cool this is, how overwhelming and intimidating and all of the other descriptive words this journey is going to be.

As I was walking this morning, the school bus went by and picked up some kids in the neighborhood down the road. It was entertaining to watch these small people yelling ‘bye’ to their younger brothers and sisters in the house, to see the parents with their coffee cups standing on the porch and waving good-bye. And I thought ‘wow, that’ll be me’. It’s overwhelming and exciting all at the same time.

Sometimes lately I’ve found myself looking at Jon and envisioning what this little girl will look like. What parts of him will she get? Will she really get his skinny legs, metabolism and inherent sense of right and wrong? Will she end up with my outgoing personality? My blue eyes or his? Will she be tall? Will she have his allergies or my strong constitution? And, what will her personality be like – reserved and stubborn like her Dad or outgoing and in need of constant control like me? I’m really excited to see what kind of a girl she’s going to be, because I think there’s all kinds of good things to choose from between Jon and I and the rest of our families…and I’m just so hoping that she takes all of it and makes it even better.

Spent yesterday at the Clio Leadership Academy again. I am enjoying my attendance at these events and I feel like I’m finally traveling the path of personal fulfillment that I’ve been talking a good game about for years — being involved in my local community. I’ve got a long way to go to get to where I want to be, but this is the first step and it feels like something so worth doing to fulfill my own aspirations. And it feels good to have that, something personal and important to me when I know that very soon that will change and it will become a challenge to make my own aspirations important, too. So – I’m glad that the timing is what it is and I’m really looking forward to seeing what comes next in our world.

Need to get to work — but just a quick update!

 

L

One thought on “29 Days…and Counting

  1. Hi Grandaughter !!! Love your comments , It is good think of you looking ahead into the future , it’s like a movie in front of your eyes. Sounds like you are going to be a great mom to your little one . Remember when you were very little and staying at my house for the day? I showed you how to use your imagination by taking your doll to the imaginary park. You said to me , ‘ I like to imagin grandma , now that you are all grown up , what a wonderful writer you could be . I hope you keep a journal of your child as she grows. And I hope you show her that imagination can take you anywhere you want to go. Grandma

Leave a Reply

