37 Weeks: Status Update

So, 37 weeks in, 3ish to go.

Or, 38 weeks in, 2ish to go.

Or…TOMORROW?! Why not. A girl can dream. And that girl is me.

Yesterday, just to get out of the house, I headed to TJ Maxx. I was looking for nothing in particular, just shopping. I stopped to flit through the little girls clothes and this woman says to me “You’re having a girl?” and I say ‘Yes’ and she says ‘You must be really close to having her, you’re carrying her low.”

Hallelujah.

I told this stranger that I loved her.

And I was serious.

I would love to be carrying her lower…at least for something different to talk about and to think about in my day.

Then, I went to Art Van. As we all know, Art Van is NOT the place to go if you don’t want to be bothered by annoying salespeople. I walked in on the phone with my Mom and sat down in a chair near to the entrance to finish my conversation before I began my enjoyable browsing. Again, for nothing in particular. And all of a sudden, this sales clerk in a cheap suit stood in front of me and talked to me as though she could not fathom what the small, electronic device next to my ear was.

“No, I’m just shopping.” I say to get her to go away.

So, I browse a bit, end the conversation with my Mom and go in search of the clearance center to see if there’s any good deals. There wasn’t. But, there, in the clearance center, the damn sales clerk is RIGHT THERE on top of me again. How did she track me down?! Ah, I was wearing red yesterday. Not a good color to wear in Art Van. Need to wear camoflage I think, to blend in with the surroundings.

She walks up to me and asks if I’m shopping for anything in particular.

NO. I state emphatically. STOP BOTHERING ME. I JUST WANT TO BROWSE IN PEACE.

As I walk out of the Clearance Center and back into the showroom, another woman says ‘How much longer do you have?’ to which I respond “Oh, just a few weeks.” This woman responds, “And you’re having a girl?” and I say ‘Yes” though I must have seemed confused. She says “I’ve had six kids — you’re carrying that baby too high to be having a boy,”.

Ok.

Art Van, we are DONE. Your sales clerk just burst my bubble that I was floating in from TJ Maxx and the other woman’s comment. Even if I am carrying high…and then, all of a sudden, the original cheap suited sales clerk is there again and says “How long did you say you have?” and I say “Two weeks or so.” and she says “What are you even doing out of the house?”

Ok lady – we’re really done. I’m pregnant, not an invalid. I’m pregnant, not in danger of convulsing on your showroom floor. What am I doing out of the house? Trying to entertain myself with things that take my mind off the fact that this baby girl is still very high, that I’m just about done being pregnant, etc. and that I’m working at home all day and then sit home all night as Jon works on the other side of the state.
Needless to say, I’m entering the “I’m DONE being pregnant stage of this journey.” Without further ado, here’s an update!


Due Date:
October 20, 2011. (Keep in mind, 10/13/11 was the last ultrasound due date and 10/27/11 is the last possible day that she will arrive, one way or another).

Baby Developments: She’s just adding more fat. She should weigh between 6-7 pounds and be about 18 inches long. I know that I can feel her parts inside of my body and they are hard and there’s not a lot of room left, seemingly.

Weight Gain: Hovering at 25 pounds total gained for the pregnancy. I had been not doing very well with my eating lately, but have really focused on eating fresh fruits and veggies and limiting the crap. I feel like I’m doing better. Except for Twizzlers. I’m still totally digging Twizzlers. They’re low fat…just not low calorie.

Cravings: Still loving yogurt parfaits with granola, Twizzlers, and cereal. Specifically, Mini Wheats.

Aversions: Nothing in particular.

Symptoms: Not sleeping very well. Which has been a bit of a trend, but last night was the worst thus far. I went to bed at 10:20 p.m. I woke up and hit the button on my iPad to determine the time. Thought for sure it’d be abut 5:45 a.m. It was 12:41 a.m. I proceeded to wake up every hour and a half or two for the next seven hours and have this same thing happen. “Oh, it’s only 3 a.m.? Only 4:45 a.m.? Only 6:21 a.m.?” and still be exhausted.

I am loving: the time I have at home. Despite my pissing and moaning, I really do enjoy being at home. I wish Jon were here. I miss just knowing that he’s here. Not that we do anything revolutionary when he’s home and not that it’s totally different…but I just like the knowledge and security of having him close.

Sleep: As mentioned, sleep is coming…in two hour increments. This is my body preparing for Minnie.

I miss: my full closet of choices and not having to wonder if I am stretching out a non-preggo shirt that will make it so I can’t wear it when I am unpregnant in a few weeks.

I am looking forward to: having a baby!

I am spazzing about: nothing, really. Except getting my house back to a clean feeling this week.

Best moment of the week: The walks I’ve been taking in the early mornings. I’m determined to walk this baby right out of me. And, meeting Nolan, Bob and Molly’s baby. And taking photos of him. He’s so sweet!

Milestones: Getting closer…

Movement: Less and less movement. I wake up every morning and lay there until I feel her move because I get freaked out if I get out of bed without feeling her move. Molly mentioned yesterday how weird it is to not have that feeling in your body anymore of a baby moving around. It will be weird and I’ll miss it in a totally not-really-missing it way. I miss all the movement of about 3-4 weeks ago. This type of movement, I won’t miss.

It’s a….: GIRL!

Exercise: Have been going for two-mile walks the last few mornings, and that has felt phenomenal. Have added in some bicep workouts on Exercise TV on Demand.

Diet: Pretty darn good.

Boobs & Belly Button: Need to go purchase a few nursing bras in a 40D and my belly button remains an innie, though a big, dark hole in the middle of my shirts. It’s bizarre, but it’s still an innie, just a stretched one.

Goals for the upcoming week: Not dwell so much on being pregnant still, don’t try to plan the entire birthing process like I did on this morning’s walk. I suggested to Minnie that she could begin the labor process for me on Sunday, I’d sleep Sunday night and we’d go in and she could be born on Monday. October 3 seemed like a fine day to be born. Only that I would like to stay pregnant until October 10 so that I can be off work through the first of the year. So, I nixed our October 3 plans. See, I’m trying to plan. Which I laugh at myself about…but, a girl can dream.

One thought on “37 Weeks: Status Update

  1. lol your post is really funny! I haven’t really had many people asking me about my pregnancy randomly like you have, so I find it really weird. Either that or the people where you live are alot friendlier or I just look scary and fat rather than pregnant, just kidding. Congrats on your girl! I wish I was having a girl although I am also happy with having my boy but it must be exciting and nerve wracking for since your due date is so close! You also sound like you are having a much more healthier pregnancy than I am, because 25 lbs is so little and 2 mi walks sheesh, I wish I was like you!

Leave a Reply

