38 Weeks: Status Report aka 38 Weeks, 3 Days

October 6, 2011 aka 38 Weeks

Due Date: October 20, 2011. At Monday’s ultrasound appointment, Minnie Mason weighed in at 7 pounds, 5 ounces and was measuring at exactly 38 weeks. So, technically today could be 38 weeks, 3 days. Let’s do our count in weeks: 2. Let’s do our count in days: 14.

WOW.

Baby Developments: Her brain is in super development mode…as it will be for the next several years. But, she’s mainly done adding weight and growing (thank GOD). She’ll add about a half ounce each day, so she’s probably now about 7 pounds, 6 ½ ounces. Very cool.

Weight Gain: Dropped two pounds at the doctor’s this week. Have been trying to go for walks, but I fear that I MIGHT have developed the preggo waddle. Ugh.

Cravings: Cereal, milk and Twizzlers. And Sprite Zero.

Aversions: Nothing in particular.

Symptoms: Holy back pain, Batman! The nightly course of a hot compress is doing alright, but is working less and less often. I break down every now and then and take a few Tylenol when it gets too bad. Again, I believe I may have developed a pregnant waddle. Again, ugh.

I am loving: feeling pretty/relatively prepared for baby. And enjoying time with Molly and Nolan since I’m in town. And the ability to go for walks at home. And just hanging out without much pressure to do anything.

Sleep: Hard to fall asleep, but once I get there I’m ok. And then, literally lifting myself off the mattress is becoming a matter of some muscle needs. I mean, how can one’s middle section feel SO damn heavy?

I miss: shopping for clothes when I go through a TJ Maxx, popping open a bottle of wine and having the ability to have a glass if I want. I miss not having elastic in the band of my pants, too.

I am looking forward to: meeting Minnie.

I am spazzing about: Not. One. Thing.

Best moment of the week: Getting to spend the day with Jon, seeing our Minnie girl on the ultrasound and just enjoying our time together. It was a great one day that we got to spend just the two of us.

Milestones: The waddle.

Movement: Yup, she’s moving. But it’s like she tries to stretch out and it ends up being a big old arm protruding out of my belly, so I push it back in. Hello, this is my body too, little girl.

It’s a….: GIRL!

Exercise: Walking some days, but not most.

Diet: Alright.

Boobs & Belly Button: So, went to the Playtex outlet yesterday to get a nursing bra or two. What a joke. First of all, it’s the outlet so the sales clerks are there for the pay check. They are NOT bra experts. I walk in to get a nursing bra and they don’t say anything to me. I ask ‘do you have nursing bras?’.

‘yes.’ Was the response from the oversized one.

I stand there and wonder if that means she’s going to show me where, or what. Ultimately, she points out my four options – really only two options as each comes in a lovely shade of white and beige. Grab two options to try on. They do not fit right at all…it’s like they were made for Madonna circa the early 90s…terribly pointy boob thing going on somehow.

My Mom was with me and she was purchasing some socks, so I was standing near the check out with her. The older sales clerk asked me if the bras had worked.

‘No’ I reply.

‘Well, we don’t recommend purchasing a nursing bra until two weeks after the baby is born, once your milk comes in,”

Oh.

Really?

You’re suggesting to me that I not have any nursing bras on hand for TWO WEEKS while I plan on nursing my baby? What the hell, lady? Who is ‘we’ anyway? And, what is your suggestion for the two weeks…no bra? Regular bra (yeah, let’s ruin the good ones). What?

I was so annoyed with her talking to me that I just stared at her and had my own internal dialogue. It ended with ‘and I will NOT shop in this store anymore’. So, there you have it.

Oh, and my belly button is still technically an innie, but it’s stretched pretty damn thin.

Here’s a pic, for those who care…

The view from the side is MUCH more flattering than the full frontal.

Goals for the upcoming week: Clean up around the house, get some diapers, wipes, essentials organized and feel good about where I stand in the cleaning of the house. Head to the doctor and ‘discuss options’ on Monday. Wrap up the Clio Leadership Academy stuff on Tuesday.

One thought on “38 Weeks: Status Report aka 38 Weeks, 3 Days

  1. buy those nursing tanks – lived in them for the first few weeks, both the fitted ones and the non fitted ones. heaven! got them from target for cheap and tossed them when i was done.

Leave a Reply

