“You’re a Parent Now”

It’s the day before Thanksgiving and we’re hosting our families this year. It’ll be a packed house, but I’m looking forward to the house feeling warm and overflowing with all sorts of people and stories and noises and, well, love.

That’s not to say that preparing for having nearly 40 people in our home has been without its planning. I have a timing list prepared, I have my needs list, I have had a shopping plan for the three days leading into the holiday so that I get the things I need, when I need them, without compromising refrigerator space. It’s quite the production.

This morning, however, as I was running around the house getting things together and Jon was feeding Elle, I asked if he wanted to see if my Mom would watch her tonight and that we could go out for drinks.

His response?

“Why?”

“Um, because it’s the night before Thanksgiving and that’s what people do.”

“Oh. Well, you’re a parent now, do you really think you need to go out tonight?”

I laughed. Of course I really think we should go out. I think being a parent makes it all the more important that you still find time to do things as YOU and as a COUPLE and not just as PARENTS. I feel like I can be all those things at the same time, but I can’t do all of them well, if I only commit to doing one of them.

Besides, grandparents need time to spoil their grandchildren properly and that just can’t happen with Mom and Dad in the room (at least not in my experience).

Anyway, needless to say that cooler heads prevailed and we are, in fact, going to head out for dinner and drinks tonight with Rick and Jen and maybe even Bob and Molly, too.

So, today, I’m thankful for good friends and family — and being myself and a parent all at the same time.

For your viewing pleasure, I’ve captured what I’m thankful for this year:

Leave a Reply

