Sick Baby

It just keeps getting better, doesn’t it?

I hit the road this week for my first travel since returning to work and it wasn’t AS BAD as I thought it would be. I didn’t sleep well in the hotel bed, and I woke up at the times Elle typically wakes up. Ah, she has me so conditioned!

Anyway, we ran smack into baby cold season this week. If my friends’ facebook status updates are any way to tell, everyone else’s kids are sick, too, so I guess taking care of sick babies is the thing to be doing.

Jon took Elle to Dr. Haddad on Tuesday. At the time, he made one of his classic disgusted-with-Lindsay sounds from the back of his throat but he did admit that it had been the right thing to do. See, I called Dr. Haddad’s office from Indianapolis, described her cough to the nurse, and she said to definitely come in that day, and that they could see her at 2:15. So, I called Jon and asked him if he would please take her to the doctor. Begrudgingly, he did.And they gave us a breathing machine thing for breathing treatments because evidently whatever she’s got doesn’t respond to antibiotics.

But here’s the thing about that – Jon was the one to take her to the doctor, because I was still at Butler and he is still laid off and home during the day.

I DON’T KNOW THE ANSWERS TO ANY OF MY MOM QUESTIONS.

Like, ‘about how long should it take to notice a difference?’ ‘when should be be concerned and return to see you?’ ‘what are symptoms to look for if it’s getting worse instead of better?’ and I’m sure a gad-zillion other things that I’d love to ask if I could. I’ve reigned myself in from actually calling the office and asking the questions myself. Jon just took the doctor’s prescription and left.

Slowly and surely, he’ll remember something that the doctor said and tell that to me — but that is a slow drip and is so far spanning a week! Jon and I are so very different…in a complementary way, of course, but it’s a little bit nerve-wracking when it comes to the health of your child.

Poor baby, though, she’s just coughing and has those red, droopy eyes that babies get when they’re sick. She’s sleeping a lot – which is good. She’s started to be a bit more smiley happy baby like she normally is, but she still feels just rotten.

I hate the helpless feeling – I wish that I could just take her cold away.

And, evidently I have – heading to the store this morning to get sore throat medicine and a humidifier for our bedroom. Jon and I have both managed to conjure up sore throats in the last week.

Sweet.

Leave a Reply

