1,000 Seconds

I’ve heard it’s a sign of some disorder when you constantly count…so I’ve probably got that.

Not REALLY, but I find that in most things that I try to do well at all, I find myself counting. I blame my Dad for teaching me this trick with my golf swing…

“Back-two-three-four, swing-two-three-four” to find a tempo for my golf swing in my high school hey day.

Then, there was the summer I was on the bowling league with folks from work and they coached me to be a moderately better bowler (this doesn’t imply I was in any way GOOD, however) by counting…

“Step-two-three-four, back-two-through-four” to find a tempo where the ball wouldn’t end up in the gutter every time down the lane.

So, naturally, I applied my counting technique to motherhood, too.

How, you may ask…

Well, I’ve taken to counting at bedtime.

This is pretty much our routine on a week night:

7ish: B-A-T-H Bath Time

by 8ish: Bottle & Bed

But Elle is getting more and more difficult to get to sleep some nights. Partially may be because she’s getting teeth (I swear she is) and maybe because she’s growing. But either way, some nights it’s hard to get her TO SLEEP. If her arms are up by her chin still, you know she’s not out yet and you have to stick with it. If you put her into her crib before the arms go down, you’re going to end up spending a lot of time shoving her binky back in her mouth before she finally gives in or you’re going to start over with the rocking, etc.

And I have very little patience some nights. Other nights, I thoroughly enjoy the rocking time we get to spend, just us girls.

But either way, I have to count because otherwise I give up/in too easily. I think she’s asleep and she’s not, and there’s a premature laying down that goes on, then I end up spending MORE time than I would have in trying to get her back to sleep.

So, I’ve begun counting.

1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10…and so on, until 100. And then…1,2,3,4,5…and so on, until 200. And then…this process continues until 1,000 seconds have passed. My rule is to err on the side of caution, which means that if I think I counted to 300 but it could have just been 200, then go with 200, because you don’t want to give up too early. Extra seconds won’t hurt, but giving in too early will.

So, on nights like tonight, it’s 1,000 seconds or else.

And she’s out, folks. Out like a light.

Leave a Reply

