And Out of Town It Is

Jon has to go out of town for work. After being laid off for the better part of five months (nearly six), Jon’s headed back to work this week. Friday, to be exact. Let’s not get me started on who starts a job on a Friday, but I’m so glad that he’s headed back.

But I’m so curious about what that means now.

Jon’s been laid off since Elle was born. They’ve gotten as much – maybe more – bonding time than she and I have. It’s been awesome to have that much help – for both of us – for the last five+ months. And now it’s all coming to an end.

It’s already begun, the ways its different. I mean, we have to be more detailed in how we’re planning our days, about when I’ll be home, about when he’ll be home. Up until now, day care has been an affordable luxury that exposes our girl to other people, kids and germs. Next week, it’s going to be the way we ensure she’s cared for since neither of us can do it.

I just love the way we’ve all gotten to hang out together, do nothing together. I like our routines. And now — well, who knows.

Jon’s going out of town – to South Haven, to work for a month at the nuclear plant there. Ugh. Not my idea of a good time, but the paycheck sure is! 🙂

I think we’re both a little bit intimidated about what this will mean for us. But, I’m certain we’ll be just fine. And I’m honestly a little bit glad that Jon might gain a bit of appreciation for how hard it is to leave her at home and go to work, because it’s what has to be done.

We’re both on the hunt for jobs that allow us to be home more consistently, but barring something falling into our laps, we’re both happy with what we’ve got going on for the time being.

But, that doesn’t mean I can’t be apprehensive (there’s the word I’ve been looking for!) about what that means for me, for Elle, for Jon, for all of us as a family.

Anyway, I’m not very motivated to write tonight, but I wanted to get this out.

Leave a Reply

