I Was Supposed to be Skinny By Now

Let me start with a disclaimer…I feel better about my body right now than I did, say, three months ago.

I don’t feel great about the shape that I exist within, but I don’t abhor it either. I don’t particularly like looking at myself in the mirror before the shower, but I can swallow that bitter pill most of the time.

I’m working on it, I really am. Or, at least I’m talking about working on it. And thinking about trying. And some days, really trying. I went for a walk with Elle tonight when we got home from school. It was nice to be in the sun, to be with her, to be getting a little exercise. I didn’t go far, I didn’t go long, but I did go. And that’s half the battle. And I spent yesterday making my muscles sore, too. So I feel like I’m getting there…slowly – too slowly sometimes – and steadily.And the day before that, two hours digging and working in the pond. I work up a sweat, so that’s something.

But, here’s what happened today…I signed us up for Parent/Tot swim classes. And therefore, I was supposed to be skinn(ier) by now.

I’ve been super looking forward to it, truly. In my head, I don’t think I connected until TODAY that I, too, would have to be in a bathing suit. That requires – ahem – maintenance of areas. It also requires a bathing suit in which I won’t feel absolutely awful (that’s an oxymoron, for sure). It requires being comfortable and confident in my own skin. I’m going to watch a ton of Dove commercials before I go to the Y next Monday afternoon. Maybe that’ll help.

I’ve been preparing Elle for swimming class diligently. I’ve been splashing water on her face, letting the spray from the spout hit her and force her to get water in her eyes. I pour water over her head to rinse her hair. Tonight, I even filled the tub up a bit more than normal and held her and let her float, so she wouldn’t be totally scared of not touching bottom in the pool. I mean, I’m REALLY TRYING to make sure she LOVES the water and swimming.

However, I was not so diligent in my own preparations.

Gut punch (and reverberations because that gut-area is NOT taut…).

So, yeah, I was supposed to be skinny by now.

But I’m not.

So – what’s that Dove line? Love the skin you’re in? Yup, that’s what I’m going to do. Create a love-fest around myself to love the skin I’m in.

WISH. ME. LUCK.

2 thoughts on “I Was Supposed to be Skinny By Now

  1. Give yourself a break … you just had a baby a few months ago! Not a small feat. If it makes you feel better, all the moms in Tory’s swim class wear one pieces .. and not all of them look that great. I don’t think anyone cares, especially in that situation. You’re too busy hanging onto a wiggly baby in the water to worry about anyone else šŸ™‚

  2. YOU Are a Super, Fantastic woman, with a very full schedule. YOU are being an excellent Mom and provider. Elle is a beautiful, delightful little girl, who is Very lucky to have you for a mom. That being said, looking like a supermodel, being a size zero, like we are all supposed to be according to Almost all the media, is just totally absurd. We spend so much of our personal time angsting over what we think we should look like, instead of being happy with all the wonderful things in our lives, like our health and our children and their health, and how about just being happy that you can afford to take swim lessons with your little munchkin?? You are super!! love and hugs, Elles great aunt x2. J PS: Just be you nobody is better qualified. :>)

Leave a Reply

