I Hate Coupons (subtitled, I Love You JCPenney)

I hate coupons.

Hate them.

I feel like I get ripped off if I DON’T use them at stores like Hobby Lobby or Michael’s or Babies R Us. But I HATE them. Having them organized, finding a spot for them in my wallet, figuring out if the damn thing’s expired (seriously, expiration date? I have enough things to keep track of (my sanity, my daughter, the balance in my checking account) that I really, REALLY don’t want to keep track of coupons.

My favorite (most hated) is when I have a coupon with me, forget to use it, and then feel the urge to go buy MORE because I went to a particular store specifically to use the coupon.

I’m the sucker that the stores WANT to get sucked into coupons.

And it’s worked.

Until now.

This is my love letter to JCPenney and my notice to the rest of the stores out there.

I’m done with your silly little coupon games.

Hate them.

Penney’s is willing to put their best price out there and not screw around anymore. No more coupons, no more discounts up the wazoo. Just the right price from the beginning (the example is they may have had a pair of sandals for $49.99 before, but after discounts, coupons, etc., you got them for $29.99. Now they’re just priced at $30 to begin with. They’re bringing in better designers all the time and – gasp – the clothes there ACTUALLY FIT ME. Like, not just saying that, they actually fit in a way that makes me feel halfway decent in my own body.

Read more here.

With all the noise out there – and the lack of return on this risky venture – Penney’s may go back to the discounts and the have-to-have-a-coupon shopper. But that’s when I’ll stop shopping. I’m willing to shop if you give me your best price, if you give it to me straight. But if I HAVE to have a coupon to get the right price…not a fan.

Qdoba’s another one that I love – instead of coupons, I have my rewards card and I just swipe it when I’m there and every once in awhile, I don’t have to pay for my quesadilla or burrito because I have earned enough points! It’s what keeps me coming back.

I know there are tv shows out there devoted to couponing (and we’ve hit another low, America) but I’m done with coupons. This may mean I’m limited to Penney’s, Qdoba and Target — or simply paying full price for items – but I LOVE what Penney’s is doing.

So I wanted to write them a little love letter and say so.

Leave a Reply

