Dear Elle: You’re 11 Months Old!

Dear Elle,

Can you believe that you are thisclose to being ONE! One whole year? That is crazy, my girlie.

But, before we think about how close we are to being a full year old, let’s talk about what you’re up to right now.

Your Dad and I have taken to saying ‘we should have named her Kay’ because you are pure CHAOS all the time. Well, not all the time. You’re sweet, too. But now that you’re fully walking everywhere, all the time, you are chaos. Opening every door or cupboard you can get your hands on, emptying anything that you can, and pretty much following up and doing anything that you’re told ‘No’ to.

Yup, chaos.

I feel guilty sometimes calling you that, because you are simply acting your age. BUT – you’re a crazy girl sometimes.

Case in point: today you realized that you can climb ONTO your Baby Einstein jumper. It is NOT safe. But, you entertained yourself and were quite proud of yourself that you got into the seat all on your own. And then bounced. And then get SUPER pissed that you couldn’t get out. Which made your Dad and I laugh! (Sorry, that’s the sense of humor you were born into).

Needless to say, the Baby Einstein is now out of your play area.

You have taken up screaming. Piercingly loud. All. The. Time. It’s really annoying and I don’t know how to get you to stop. I need to Google that. Because it’s not a becoming trait of a young girlie. That’s for sure.

You are fully mobile – you move FAST. You’re still wearing 9 month clothes, but that’s probably pretty short lived. It’s sad, there were some really cute 12 month summer clothes that you just did not make it into.

Planning for your birthday party is well underway. I’m excited about it, for sure. I can’t believe it will be here so quickly, before we know it.

We are having you outside to play more – which is great. Except that you’ve been eating dirt. Not a lot, but for sure eating it. And I’ve just committed to you getting dirty and messy, and playing around outside.

You still LOVE the bath. You think every bath is too short. You need new bath toys, for sure, but those that you have seem to be entertaining enough.

The things you play with these days amaze me. Like, the measuring tape from my sewing kit. The step stool. The broken cow rattle. Those are among your favorite things. Weird, right?

You have TEETH! You have two on the bottom and there are two RIGHT THERE on the top. After going so long with no teeth, I knew they’d come quick when they did. You’ve been understandably pretty miserable the last week or so when they’re hurting. I can already see the orthodontic bills looming in our future. đŸ™‚

You are still an extremely happy baby most of the time. Most people comment on how happy smiley you are – and you are. Except at night or when you’ve got something to complain about. Quite honestly, when it comes down to it, you typically cry or scream when you’ve get a wet butt or need to eat. You’re an easy to figure out girlie.

I can’t even tell you how much I love sitting and watching you grow. I feel like I’ve noticed a lot lately how different you are – flashes of the baby you were when we first met a year ago and flashes of how your hair might look a little longer, or the way you’ll interact with other kids and friends and people. I love where we’ve been and am absolutely thrilled about where we’re going.

I’m filled to overflowing with how much I love you.

You are an amazing girl.

My girl.

How freaking cool.

Love,

Mom

 

One thought on “Dear Elle: You’re 11 Months Old!

Leave a Reply

