Baby Too: Week 12, Day 2

Due Date: June 22, 2014
*This is the same day that I miscarried twins in 2013. Eerie and full circle all at the same time.

Baby Developments: The average fetus at week 12 is about 2.1 inches long and .49 ounces. Now that she’s got pretty much all her parts, her main job is to keep on growing. While she’s doing that, she’s also developing her reflexes — if you poke your belly, she’ll likely move, and she’s opening and closing her fingers and curling her toes. (From thebump)

week12-babytoo

Weight Gain: Steady. Had gained a net total of exactly five pounds at the 11 week, 3 day appointment (so, a week ago). Felt pretty good about that.

Cravings: Water. Fruit. Vegetables.

Symptoms: Still tired, but slowly getting past that. The nausea has subsided for the most part, but eating fruit still helps keep it at bay.

I am loving: The fact that my regular old pants still fit and have room in them. And that my size smaller pants are still fitting. I don’t get it. It made me curious at the doctor appointment last week, and the nurse practitioner said that there’s something in there because my uterus is up where it wouldn’t be if there weren’t a baby in there.

Sleep: Fine. Wish I could force myself to not hit snooze and to wake up an hour earlier every day. I think I’d be a better person for it, but once I’m asleep, waking up is hard to do.

I miss: Cocktails. It’s going to be a long ride if I’m missing them already. I am not missing the hangover-after-one-drink thing but I do miss enjoying a drink. I have all this wine and liquor and it’s a shame to not be able to drink at Christmas.

I am looking forward to: Christmas with family and friends. Love this time of year.

I am spazzing about: Nothing really. Finalizing Christmas shopping. Wrapping presents. Planning our family Christmas party with my Mom’s family.

Best moment of the week: Last week, seeing the heartbeat and getting a healthy baby report. It honestly was something that I didn’t understand how apprehensive I was. After the N.P. and the doctor walked out after the ultrasound, I just broke down sobbing. It was cathartic and sad all at once. I realized I was still sad about having miscarried and relieved that I hadn’t with this pregnancy. Weird, but true.

Milestones: Hello, second trimester!

Movement: None. From the baby or me. My sciatica/sciatic is a bugger a lot of the time. Makes me feel like I have a still leg/pain in the ass at all times. Sweet.

It’s a….: healthy baby with a heartbeat!

Exercise: Not much.

Diet: Eating the same ol’ stuff I always do.

Goals for the upcoming week: Wrap Christmas presents. Clean the house.

Leave a Reply

