Week 35, Day 6

Due Date: June 22, 2014 (but have lobbied to be induced earlier, which is reflected in the days to go!)

Baby Developments: Baby’s the size of a honeydew melon! Your due date is just four weeks away. Hasn’t time flown? Your once-poppy seed would probably be able to breathe on his own if he was born right now. (If not, he’d probably need some TLC, but he’d likely be okay.) Most of his systems are in working order at 36 weeks. Since baby really could decide to make his arrival any day now, try to put in a little prep work. For example, if you took a child birth class a few months ago, you might want to reread any materials you were given and practice some of the breathing techniques you learned with your partner. Go over your plan for getting to the hospital, and all the what-ifs (like, if you go into labor while you’re at work, will you go home first or straight there?). You might also want to remind your boss and colleagues of the status of all your work projects, so they know exactly where to take over if you’re suddenly out of the office. Week 36 is also a good time to enjoy a date with your partner. We’re guessing you won’t be up for dancing, but a nice dinner might be just what you two could use.

Weight Gain: Pretty much standard for my weight prior to getting pregnant. Somewhere in the 25-30 pound range, which I’m ok with. I have been S.I.C.K. sick for the last 2 1/2 weeks, so eating hasn’t been the first thing on my mind. Especially after waking up to Elle puking Tuesday morning and to myself puking this morning. Ugh.

Cravings: To stop feeling like general shit and to be able to feel like a human in good health. I just got worn out with a sinus infection gone wrong, and now this battle of the stomach flu. So, I CRAVE an ending to feeling like absolute crap.

Symptoms: Not sure what to note here…no swelling in feet or ankles, not much else to report. Feel like my boobs have gotten a lot bigger lately and that this baby has grown exponentially in the last two weeks. Which, of course, he is supposed to be doing.

I am loving: The days when I have felt well in the last few weeks, because I’ve been uber-productive at work and gotten just a ton of stuff done. It’s helping me feel a little bit more prepared to go out on maternity leave.

Sleep: I’m sleeping pretty well, not having to pee a lot yet, but it’s hard to get comfortable to GET to sleep.

I miss: My husband. About the time I started to get sick, he went back to work after having been laid off for several weeks. It was a good break for him, after he had worked crazy hours all winter. And then he goes back to work working 84 hours a week, plus 3 hours of drive time a day, just when I hit my weakest point health-wise. I feel like I see him and talk to him for all of 4 minutes each night, and that’s about it. He’s my best buddy, and I do miss talking to him and knowing what’s going on in each other’s lives. I feel like there is so much going on with both of us independently of one another right now, and I just miss him, quite honestly. (For the record, this is the first time I think I’ve ever done a weekly update in my life where drinking wasn’t the thing I missed0.

I am looking forward to: the growth ultrasound in a week and a half where we’ll get the 3D ultrasound pictures. I’m also looking forward to narrowing down the names for this poor child. We just haven’t been able to determine a name we really both like.

I am spazzing about: Feeling like complete junk. Today is the first day that I have NOT gone into the office at. all. since I started feeling like crap. I did switch MOD days with a co-worker last week, so I had Saturday off. That was after the ER visit on Friday, but I had still been in the office in the morning and filmed a TV segment before going to the ER. I feel like we’re pretty ready. I was worried about not having enough pajamas for this little guy when he arrives, but Carter’s baby sale this week helped that feeling subside. I went a bit overboard on jammies…

Best moment of the week: Last night, when Elle wrapped her arms around me, kissed me and I said “I love you SOOOO much”.

Milestones: The quilt has been delivered and the nursery is nearly complete. I’m very happy with how it’s all come together. I also think I’ve ‘dropped’ a bit. Or the baby has, whatever. They actually commented on it at work (people who I don’t mind commenting), and I had actually thought that myself in the morning. So, I think it’s true. Baby’s getting ready to join the world!

Movement: Lots. and lots. and lots more. I keep thinking with the way he’s moving he’s got to be ready to just come out already — but feeling as crappy as I have the last few weeks, I wouldn’t have wanted that to happen anyway.

It’s a….: Boy.

Exercise: Not much.

Diet: Fairly decent. Except that I can’t keep track of what I’m actually eating or how often. I just have felt so crappy. Thought I turned the corner Wednesday – only to be slapped with an unsettled stomach all day yesterday.

Goals for the upcoming week: Prep for maternity leave. Make a plan with daycare for Elle once the baby arrives. Buy Elle’s Big Sister present.

Leave a Reply

